Just another WordPress.com site

Elements and Reactivity

Recently I became curious of which element was the most reactive, and I notice I had no points in my research standard for chemistry. I decided I could cure my curiosity and get points at the same time, and this is what I discovered.

 

Of the elements, group 1A is either the most or one of the most reactive groups of elements. These elements are known as the alkali metals. These metals are so reactive they are not found natural in nature. These elements are:

Lithium(Li)

Sodium(Na)

Potassium(K)

Rubidium(Rb)

Cesium (Cs)

Francium(Fr)

These elements only have 1 electron in their outer shell, and are more than willing to get rid of it through ionic bonding.

Another Competing group for most reactive are the Halogens. The Halogens are group 17 and  contain 7 electrons in their outer shells. These elements are also only found combined with other elements in nature.

Fluorine(F)

Chlorine(Cl)

Bromine(Br)

Iodine(I)

Astatine(At)

Of these groups of elements, Fluorine is most likely the most reactive. It can react with almost anything, and able to combine with things such as some glasses and some noble gasses. No chemical substance can free fluorine from it’s bond, which made it very difficult for scientists to isolate it.

 

These are some the things I’ve learned in my adventure for learning about very reactive elements, and of these i think fluorine takes the cake.

 

Sources:

http://www.chemicalelements.com/groups/alkali.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halogen

http://education.jlab.org/itselemental/ele009.html

 

Leave a comment